Love

Jane Dougherty Writes

Painting by Van Gogh

Van_Gogh_-_Liebespaar_in_Arles_(Ausschnitt)

I would take your burden,

Though it be heavy as the world.

I would cup my hands,

And carry your sorrows,

Though they fill an ocean.

I would carry the world,

Though it be heavy as your heart.

For you, I would carry an ocean in my hands,

A river of sorrows in my heart,

A world of pain in my arms.

But you smile and touch my face,

You take the world from my frail arms,

And pour a last drop of love into my full heart.

You open my hand,

Let the ocean of pain slip through my fingers,

And you take up my burden too.

View original post

Leave a Reply

