Fear of the Dark

Richard M. Ankers - Author

All is well

Say the circling sharks

But my strokes are strong

As from the waves, I emerge

Into a glistening day

To a cacophony of vultures

Hailing friendships from on high

But my feet are fleet

And the forest is dark and inviting

So close, so close

The lure of fresh fruit overwhelming

As knows the snake who coils above it

But my mind is sharp

It tells me to be still, calm, relax

Go unseen

And I sit, and I wait until he slithers away

Into a descending night, black as pitch

And I am alone without danger

Alone with only myself

And I shiver for the first time

At what I know of me

And wonder

Shall I make it through another night?

View original post

Leave a Reply

